Mining Indaba 2023

The Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development participated in the Mining Indaba 2023. The delegation included, from L-R; Mr. Godfrey Bahati, Commissioner/ Geothermal Resource Department ; Ms. Loyola Korobwa, Mining

Read More »


Our Mandate

To establish, promote the development, strategically manage and safeguard the rational and sustainable exploitation and utilization of mineral resources for social and economic development.

Our Vision

A model of excellence in sustainable management and utilization of mineral resources.

Our Mission

To ensure reliable, adequate and sustainable exploitation, management and utilization of mineral resources.

This department is made up of four (4) divisions namely Geology Division, Laboratory Division, Geodata Division, Geophysics & Seismology Division

The Energy Department is committed to responsibly establish and develop the geothermal
energy of Uganda and also demonstrate other geothermal uses for social and economic

Oversees the process of granting and regulating
mining operations of Uganda. It is made up three (3) divisions namely License Administration division, Geoscience division, Monitoring and Inspection division, 


Projects in DGSM